10 Horrifying Books to Read before Halloween

Posted by Ben Landau October  19, 2015

Proceed with caution. With Halloween creeping ever closer, we thought we’d take a look at the spookiest stories from the past 365 days—books that’ll have you reading deep and into the dark night.

 

 

Crimson Peak by Nancy Holder

When her heart is stolen by a seductive stranger, a young woman is swept away to a house atop a mountain of blood-red clay: a place filled with secrets that will haunt her (and you) forever. From acclaimed director Guillermo del Toro. 

 

Trick or Treat by Jackson Sharp

Religion, madness and murder align amongst the teeming spires of Oxford, England, in this terrifying Halloween thriller from Jackson Sharp. Perfect for fans of Karen Rose, Richard Montanari, and Alastair Gunn

 

The Telling by Jo Baker

A ghost story of the most unusual kind, The Telling is a thrilling—and sometimes chilling—tale about two women, separated by almost two centuries, grappling with change and loss.

 

 

Brother by Ania Ahlborn

From the bestselling horror author of Within These Walls and The Bird Eater comes a brand-new novel of terror that follows a teenager determined to break from his family’s unconventional—and deeply disturbing—traditions. Beware this one is seriously scary!

 

The Uninvited by Cat Winters

25 year-old Ivy Rowan rises from her sickbed after being struck by the great influenza epidemic of 1918, only to discover that the world has been torn apart in just a few short days. But Ivy's lifelong gift—or curse—remains. She sees the uninvited ones—ghosts of loved ones who appear to her, unasked for and unwelcomed, for they always herald impending death.

 

The Forgotten by Heather Graham

A woman named Maria Gomez is murdered in Miami, apparently by her husband-who'd been presumed dead, slain by a crime boss. Soon, rumors of crazed zombies abound in the Miami media, and the Krewe of Hunters, an elite FBI unit of paranormal investigators, is called in.

 

 

Finders Keepers by Stephen King

A masterful, intensely suspenseful novel about a reader whose obsession with a reclusive writer goes far too far—a book about the power of storytelling, starring the same trio of unlikely and winning heroes King introduced in Mr. Mercedes.

 

Ghostly (anthology)

Collected and introduced by Audrey Niffenegger, the bestselling author of The Time Traveler's Wife. This is a compilation of some of the best ghost stories of all time!

 

The Captive Condition by Kevin P. Keating

From a thrilling new voice in fiction comes a chilling and deliciously dark novel about an idyllic Midwestern college town that turns out to be a panorama of depravity and a nexus of horror.

 

A Head Full of Ghosts by Paul Tremblay

A chilling domestic drama that blends psychological suspense with a touch of modern horror from a new, brilliantly imaginative master.

Leave a Comment

*
*
*