5 Things To Read This Weekend

Posted by Kobo September  18, 2015

 

This week we salute the end of summer with a sunny selection of can’t-miss reads.

 

Why Not Me? By Mindy Kaling

Avoid those feelings of FOMO (fear of missing out) – read Mindy Kaling’s new collection of essays Why Not Me? a hilarious follow-up to her best selling memoir Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? Perfect for dipping in and out of between naps on the hammock.

 

Sunshine Sketches of a Little Town by Stephen Leacock

Let the nostalgia wash over you like so much summer sun. Sunshine Sketches of a Little Town presents a vibrant and unforgettable portrait of the delightful citizens of the fictional small town of Mariposa, Ontario. Finish it all in one dreamy day.

  

Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff

Looking for something heavier to sink your teeth into—in addition to some delicious end of summer BBQ of, course? Recently long-listed for the National Book Award, Fates and Furies is a literary masterpiece that defies expectation at every turn.

 

Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy

Guaranteed to steal your heart (and a good chunk of your reading time this weekend)—Dumplin’ is a Kobo staff favourite that’s perfect for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell. With starry Texas nights, red candy suckers, Dolly Parton songs, and a wildly unforgettable heroine—Dumplin’ is as summer as it gets.

 

Devoted in Death by J.D. Robb

Finally, cool yourself down with with Devoted in Death, a potent page-turner about a couple whose passion is fueled by ice-cold brutality.

 

 

Leave a Comment

*
*
*