What We're Reading in July

Check out what's on Kobo's reading list this month

Posted by Kobo July  21, 2015

Want to know what the booklovers at Kobo are reading in their spare time this summer? Here are the fantastic fantasies, beguiling bios, and top-rate thrillers that has our staff raving.

 

Disclaimer by Renee Knight

Why: Imagine picking up an unfamiliar novel on your nightstand, and realizing in horror that the book is about you and a terrible secret you thought you’d buried twenty years earlier. This dark, twisty psychological thriller has been keeping me up late for days and is essential reading for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl On the Train.

Who: Christine, Author Relations Manager

 

 

 

China Rich Girlfriend by Kevin Kwan

Why: Kevin Kwan, the bestselling author behind Crazy Rich Asians, is back with a wickedly funny new novel of social climbing, secret emails, art world scandal, lovesick billionaires, and the outrageous story of what happens when Rachel Chu, engaged to marry Asia's most eligible bachelor, discovers her birthfather. What’s not to love?

 

 

Born Standing Up - A Comic's Life by Steve Martin

Why: Steve Martin takes you on a wildly entertaining ride through his stand-up career.  His fantastic, funny, and honest stories show you how hard he worked to achieve success.

Who: Manny, Web Product Owner

 

 

 

Last of the Independents by Sam Wiebe

Why: What do a necrophile, a missing boy, and an unsavoury P.I. have in common? Private detective Michael Drayton is about to find out…. Winner of the first annual Kobo Emerging Writer Prize for Mystery, Last of the Independents is an impressive debut from one of Canada’s most promising new voices in the genre.

 

 

 

 

 

Based On A True Story by Elizabeth Renzetti

Why: “The author is a great friend and the book is funny and smart like she is.”

Who: Tracy, VP of Communications & PR

 

 

 

 

The Library at Mount Char by Scott Hawkins

Strange, darkly funny and beautifully imagined—this book is a must-read for fans of Neil Gaiman and Joe Hill. Populated by an unforgettable cast of characters and propelled by a plot that will shock you again and again, The Library at Mount Char is at once horrifying and hilarious.

 

Leave a Comment

*
*
*